

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

PUBLIC SESSION

MINUTES

King Campus Thursday, September 24, 2015

Pod C 5:12 p.m.

Present: David Agnew Regrets: Doug Brooks, Vice-Chair

Fariba Anderson (teleconference)

Janet Beed, Vice-Chair

Donna Duncan, Chair

Warren Jestin

Alice Keung

Mina Mawani

Thomas Carrique

Lois Cormack

Colleen Fleming

John Honderich

Case Ootes

Naki Osutei

Kevin Reinhardt Mike Shaver Mark Solomon

Karen Webb, Vice-Chair

Stan White

Staff: Bernie Beaulieu, Executive Director, Human Resources

Ranjan Bhattacharya, Dean, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering Technology

David Tsubouchi

Christine Blake-Durie, Dean of Students Jean Choi, Dean, Academic Quality

Henry Decock, Associate Vice-President, Academic Partnerships

Renata D'Innocenzo, Executive Director, President's Office; Corporate Secretary

Tina DiSimone, Dean, Faculty of Applied Arts and Health Sciences

Nevzat Gurmen, Vice-President, Finance and Administration; Board Treasurer

Sharon Kinasz, Registrar

Michael Maynard, Dean, Faculty of Communication, Art and Design

Joy McKinnon, Vice-President, Academic

Jos Nolle, Dean, Seneca International

Laura Rutledge, Board Assistant, Board of Governors; Recorder

Susan Savoie, Dean, Faculty of Continuing Education and Learning Services

Mike Sparling, Dean, Faculty of Business Ana White, Vice-President, External

Tan-Ling Yeung, Director, Advancement and Alumni

The Chair called the meeting to order at 5:12 p.m. and introduced the new governors – Mina Mawani and Mark Solomon.

The Chair also thanked Tina DiSimone and her team for the tour of King Campus and hosting the meeting.

There was no Conflict of Interest declared.

1. Consent Agenda

Warren Jestin moved, seconded by Janet Beed, "That the Board of Governors approve the consent agenda business."

CARRIED

Items/motions approved by consent agenda:

- 1.1 Confirmation of Agenda
- 1.2 Minutes of the Public Session June 4, 2015
- 1.3 Finance and Administration Committee (FAC)
 - 1.3.1 FAC Minutes September 15, 2015
 - 1.3.2 FAC Terms of Reference
 - 1.3.3 FAC Work Plan and Meeting Dates for 2015-16

2. Appointment of Officer

Karen Webb moved, seconded by Mike Shaver, "That the Board of Governors appoint Nevzat Gurmen, Vice-President, Finance and Administration, as Treasurer for 2015-2016."

CARRIED

3. President's Report

In addition to his report, President Agnew introduced:

- Nevzat Gurmen, Vice-President, Finance and Administration
- Jean Choi, Dean, Academic Quality

President Agnew also provided an update on:

- the annual All Employee Meeting held on September 1 with 1200 employees in attendance
- fall start-up, welcome backs, and orientation activities
- the event to raise funds for Syrian refugees spearheaded by Dean Michael Maynard and an announcement that Seneca will fund 10 bursaries for Syrian refugees
- the fall enrolment report noting we grew by 5.4% over enrolment for fall 2014

4. Board Dates 2015-2016 (revised)

The Chair noted that the meeting on:

- November 26 is at Newnham Campus and will be followed by the holiday party
- February 11 will be followed by a planning session and extended to approximately 8 p.m.

5. Election Review and Appeal Boards

Stan White moved, seconded by Mina Mawani, "That the Board of Governors approve the Election Review Board members consisting of Karen Webb, Alice Keung and Mike Shaver, and the Election Appeal Board members consisting of Janet Beed, Fariba Anderson and Kevin Reinhardt."

CARRIED

6. Support for Governors

The Governance and Nominating Committee will work with Renata D'Innocenzo to review and update the format of materials and support for the Board and its committees.

7. Statement of Investment Policies and Procedures for Endowment and Operating Funds (SIP&P)

The Governance and Nominating Committee acted on behalf of the Board and approved the *Statement of Investment Policies and Procedures* for *Endowment and Operating Fund*, as recommended by the Finance and Administration Committee.

8. Other Business

None.

9. Date of Next Meeting: Thursday, November 26, 2015

Newnham Campus, Great Hall, A1531-A

4 p.m. to 6 p.m. followed by the Board Holiday Party

Renata Dinocenjo

10. Adjournment

Mike Shaver moved, seconded by Alice Keung, "That the public session adjourn at 5:33 p.m."

CARRIED

Chair

Secretary