

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

PUBLIC SESSION

MINUTES

Boardroom A4508 4 p.m.

Present: David Agnew Warren Jestin, Vice-Chair

Fareed Amin Mawani

Janet Beed, Chair

Gagandeep Singh Sidhu

Doug Brooks

Mark Solomon

Belinda Tang (via teleconference)

Marc Caira

Almost Chalana

Vince Timpano

Ahmed Chakera
Lois Cormack, Vice-Chair

Rashpal Uppal-Assi

John Honderich (via teleconference)

Regrets: Shafiq Ebrahim

Newnham Campus

Alice Keung

Staff: Bernie Beaulieu, Associate Vice-President, Human Resources

Ranjan Bhattacharya, Dean, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering Technology

Christine Blake, Dean of Students Jean Choi, Dean, Academic Quality

Henry Decock, Associate Vice-President, Academic Partnerships Tina Di Simone, Associate Vice-President, Academic Planning

Renata D'Innocenzo, Chief of Staff/AVP, President's Office; Corporate Secretary Nevzat Gurmen, Vice-President, Finance and Administration; Board Treasurer

Madelyn Herschorn, Director, Marketing and Communications Dean Hughes, Executive Director, Advancement and Alumni

Sharon Kinasz, Registrar

Radha Krishnan, Associate Vice-President, Information Services Corey Long, Director, Strategic Initiatives and Government Relations Maria May, Dean, Faculty of Applied Arts and Health Sciences Michael Maynard, Dean, Faculty of Communication, Art and Design

Michael Maynard, Dean, Faculty of Communication, Art and Design Jeff McCarthy, Dean, Faculty of Continuing Education and Training

Kimberley Minott, Board Assistant; Recorder

Naaz Mohamed, Director, Finance

David Neale, Executive Director, Campus Services

Laurel Schollen, Vice-President, Academic

Vanessa Williamson, Dean, Applied Research, Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Tan-Ling Yeung, Director, Advancement and Alumni

Thursday, May 3, 2018

The chair called the meeting to order at 4 p.m.

There was no *Conflict of Interest* declared.

The chair extended congratulations to Gagandeep Singh Sidhu on his selection as the Bronze recipient of the CICan Leadership Excellence Award for Students and to Mark Solomon on his re-election for a second term.

1. Consent Agenda

Warren Jestin, seconded by Doug Brooks, "That the Board of Governors approve the consent agenda business".

CARRIED

Items approved by consent agenda:

- 1.1 Confirmation of Agenda
- 1.2 Public Session Minutes March 1, 2018

2. Educational Component: HELIX

President Agnew introduced Chris Dudley, Director of Entrepreneurship who spoke to the board about Seneca's on campus incubator, HELIX. Mr. Dudley introduced two HELIXers Christian Navarro and Carlos Bravo who pitched their company, Nautilus Innovation Lab, to the board.

3. President's Report

In addition to his report, President Agnew highlighted:

- a memorial service was held on campus today, Thursday, May 3, 2018 for Ji Hun Kim, an international student from Korea in the English Language Institute (ELI) at Newnham Campus, who died in the horrific Toronto van attack
- the Seneca Student Awards reception was held on Tuesday, April 24, 2018; Mitzie Hunter, Minister of Advanced Education and Skills Development, attended the event
- Seneca50Fest, an event to celebrate Seneca's 50 years, will be held at the Newnham Campus on Friday, June 15, 2018; an invitation will be sent to governors
- 4. Committee Update Finance and Administration Committee

Lois Cormack highlighted the following items submitted for information:

- 4.1 2017-18 Business Plan Report Back
- 4.2 2017-18 Operating and Capital Expenditures Forecast

Lois Cormack also highlighted the following item submitted for motion:

4.3 2018-19 Business Plan

Lois Cormack moved, seconded by Marc Caira, "That the Board of Governors approve the 2018-19 Business Plan".

CARRIED

Vince Timpano joined the meeting at 4:34 p.m.

5. Other Business

The chair spoke to the schedule of meetings this year to provide clarity on the May and June meeting occurrence.

The chair provided an overview of her attendance at the Seneca Awards reception on Tuesday, April 24, 2018. The recipients of Seneca's Board of Governors Entrance Scholarship Award were celebrated.

6. Date of Next Meeting: Thursday, June 7, 2018, Newnham Campus, Boardroom A4508.

7. Adjournment

Gagandeep Singh Sidhu moved, seconded by Marc Caira, "That the public session adjourn and move in camera."

CARRIED

The public session adjourned at 4:39 p.m. to move into the in camera session.

Joseed	Renata Dinascleye
Chair	Corporate Secretary